#Bizarre theories and pointless #technologies: #Quantum #Theory

By Becky Northfield

Ever gone into a shop, looked upon a piece of seemingly useless electronic equipment and thought, ‘Well what’s the point of that, then?’

Have you pondered on a theory’s mystery, or downright ludicrousness?

You are not alone…

Each week I will be sharing my thoughts on bizarre theories and pointless technologies. I will have a new blog entry every week and this week, i’ts all about quantum theory. Well, not all of it. I hope I’m not alone when I say I don’t quite get it and need a step-by-step manual. And even then, it gets a little fuzzy. That’s why I’ve focused on a particular part of quantum physics, so I can at least think I know a small bit, and impress people with my limited knowledge.

Tomorrow could be yesterday and yesterday tomorrow…according to quantum physics.

640_transfer_ion_photon2print
A photon, an elementary particle – a tiny part of the confusion that is quantum physics

If this is correct, every moment we experience is a separate reality in itself. Each moment of our consciousness contains a different set of experiences, so it wouldn’t matter if our timeline was completely jumbled.

This means that tomorrow could happen before yesterday. The memories we have are reliant on prearranged information within each moment of consciousness and can only tell us something about the reality we experience right now. What we perceive as time or continuity of moments is actually an illusion.

In 2007, Robert Lanza proposed biocentrism, which attempted to show how biology could build on quantum physics. Lanza claimed that space and time are types of animal-sense perception, and not external physical objects.

Biocentrism is made up of seven core principles:

  • What we see is dependent on the observer, and what we perceive as reality is a process that involves our consciousness
  • Our external and internal perceptions are intertwined
  • Particles’ behaviour is inextricably linked to the presence of an observer
  • It is necessary for consciousness to exist, without it matter dwells in an undetermined state of probability
  • Laws, forces and constants of the universe seem to be fine-tuned for life
  • The sixth and seventh principles say space and time are not objects, but tools of our animal understanding.

If this is accurate, it means that reality doesn’t exist.

If we could actually picture our existence, it would look like an endless sea of static, where all probabilities exist, and we could be in separate realities, doing different things, all at the same time. Creepy.

If I could talk to my yesterday self, knowing I would consciously be there first before today, would I tell myself to do different things? I’m not too sure. According to biocentrism, we are not aware of the process. If my consciousness popped back two years, or flew forwards two decades, I wouldn’t know it.

DR WHO (TV) DOCTOR WHO (ALT) COLIN BAKER DRW 003 MOVIESTORE COLLECTION
A popular time traveller…what’s his name again? Doctor something?

Time travel has been discovered to be impossible, which ruins the ‘Back to the Future’ idea. It’s also been proven that you can’t change the past, even if you could travel back in time, because my yesterday-tomorrow self would be none-the-wiser. If I did want to do anything differently, whether it was a dramatic event or something stupid, like stubbing my toe, I couldn’t go back in time and change my behaviour. This is all down to the ‘grandfather paradox’. Specifically, if you went back in time before your grandfather had a chance to father your parent, and you killed your granddad, this would result in your never having been born. This means you could never have existed to go back in time and kill him, and that means you were born and could go back and kill him, which means…etcetera and so forth. In a more basic sense, I stubbed my toe, and went back in time to not stub my toe. But this would mean that I never stubbed my toe, so wouldn’t go back in time and stop that, so I could stub my toe, and I could go back in time to not stub my toe, which means I never stubbed my toe…you get the drift.

I would have no choice in the matter of where my consciousness is, or was. Even if tomorrow was yesterday and yesterday tomorrow, I wouldn’t be able to do a darn thing about it. I would have to just go with the flow of consciousness.

 

5 thoughts on “#Bizarre theories and pointless #technologies: #Quantum #Theory

  1. have never heard the theory of “biocentrism” before.
    In my own thinking I decided several years ago, that “time” is a purely human abstraction (animals may or may not have some understanding of “time”, I don’t think anybody knows for certain, yet). A rock is not aware of “time”. A “day” or a “year” is completely meaningless to the universe. For “time” to have any concept or meaning there must be some consciousness that is #1) aware of the passage of “time”, #2) somehow affected or constrained by “time” (quite simply self-awareness of impending death, the end of “time”). Physical non-entities in the universe do not in any way follow a “timetable” (nor of course, are they aware of any passage of “time”).
    Halley’s Comet visits Earth approximately every 75 years. This has nothing to do with a timetable or schedule. The comet’s visit is determined by the speed of a physical object that is somewhat constant. But, it has nothing to do with a clock.
    “Time” is simply a human construct that allows our minds to place some order upon our universe.
    “Time” is just physical distance between point “A” of awareness and point “B” of awareness at a given velocity divided into agreed upon segments that English speaking countries call “seconds”, “minutes”, “hours”, “days”, “weeks”, “months”, “years”, “decades”, “centuries”, ” millennia”, etc.
    We see the Sun now (point “A”) and when we see it next (point “B”) we as a species have agreed to call this a “day”. But it means nothing to the rest of the universe. The Earth is just traveling around the Sun until entropy or our own Sun’s death by supernova stops this cycle.
    The universe existed way, way before (notice I didn’t use the word “time”) clocks were ever invented and it will continue-on, long after clocks and humans no longer exist to count “time”.

    1. Hi Thomas,
      I found your reply interesting.
      Some animals clearly have an appreciation of speed and distance, so doesn’t it follow that they must appreciate time too?
      Do clocks count time? I think they just mimic the astronomical guides (year, day, &c) that we use.
      Did the universe exist before anyone was here to see it? When the tree falls in the forest……
      Rob.

      1. At their most basic design clocks really only move through physical distance and we look at painted points on the dial and call it 1 O’clock, 3:37, etc.
        A clock is just a moving physical object (like Halley’s Comet). We as human beings have attached an idea to this movement that we call “time”.
        I think animals react to outside stimulate that occur at different times of the day and year, but I doubt they really count the minutes of their lives. Of course, NOBODY REALLY KNOWS!

Leave a Reply

