America’s Cup challengers and history – an annotated infographic

Bermuda hosts the 35th edition of the America’s Cup in 2017.

Since 1851, the best sailors in the world, on the fastest boats, have competed for yachting’s most prestigious prize.

Apart from the United States only three other nations, Australia, New Zealand and Switzerland, have claimed the trophy, affectionately known as the “Auld Mug”.

E&T magazine has celebrated the America’s Cup on a number of occasions, featuring the plans of Britain’s Team Land Rover BAR to win the 2017 competition; an interview with the head of the British team, Martin Whitmarsh; and the British team’s early preparations in 2015.

Click on the graphic for an expanded view.

America's Cup 2017


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s